Day 48 – Recovery

Horrendous scratching last night left my skin badly damaged this morning.

As the hours went past today and I didn’t feel like scratching I felt less and less inclined to use my Hydrocortisone 1% and allowed the skin to recover peacefully. I used shea butter after a (slightly painful) shower in the AM, then coconut oil at about 17:00 before a nap to recover from my horrendous lack of sleep last night. So far…it worked! No scratching, except the back of my neck, which is a massive success.

Reasons for lack of scratching? I’ve been controlling my blood sugar more carefully than I was when I was in Romania, I’ve forced myself not to get stressed today (even though I got lots done), I ate huge amounts of green veg for lunch, I pre-prepared myself for the damage of yesterday’s flight by stocking up on vitamin C (a bell pepper yesterday, plenty of lemon, a berry smoothie on arrival at Luton airport at 23:00 yesterday…)…no caffeine obviously…didn’t eat too heavily at lunch…yeah, good stuff.

Washed blood-stained bedsheets today – this is the most demoralising sight for me, and causes me real upset. Anyway, better now with these clean ones.

Ahhh starting to scratch now. Right, better go to sleep. Night.

Leave a comment